top of page

Review: Zack Snyder's Justice League

Directed by Zack Snyder



The time has finally come, the Snyder cut has finally released. Before I begin, I would like to say, although I wasn't part of the #releasethesnydercut trend, I still would have loved to see Zack Snyder's true vision for the film. It is sad with the tragic circumstances that we never got to see that cut, until now. Upon finally seeing the four hour, I can ultimately say despite some issues I have with the film, it was definitely a blast to watch, and was definitely worth the wait. (WARNING, THERE MAY BE SOME SPOILERS IN THIS REVIEW)


The pacing was quite good, and barely felt the long run-time. While the film is four hours, I felt it was necessary and each minute does not waste away. The choice to split the film into chapters was good, which allowed me at times to take a few breaks without missing the action. Speaking about action, the action was thrilling and fun to watch. Steppenwolf, who I thought was an alright antagonist in the original cut, takes more a backseat role in this film, allowing Darkseid to be the main baddie (it's a shame they couldn't get Michael Ironside to voice him though). Ray Fisher was great, and Cyborg's character was further developed and fleshed out, and quite honestly might be the best actor/character in the film, it is a shame with his dispute with WB that we won't see him return in the role though. I said this before and I'll say it again, I never really liked Ezra Miller as Flash. Despite the film's efforts to make him the comedic relief, he is just kind of awkward and really out of place. There is one scene that was definitely out of place and that was the Martha/Martian Manhunter scene, which felt really forced. If they had just kept that final scene with Martian Manhunter with Bruce Wayne, that would have been fine, and if they could even find a better way to introduce and reveal his character, that would be much better.


Zack Snyder definitely knows how to frame scenes, even with the film's 4:3 aspect ratio, which I personally feel does not hinder the film's gorgeous cinematography. Also the film's score is great and definitely highlights the emotions felt in certain scenes, especially that Man of Steel score which will forever live rent free in my head.


Despite the issues, I am extremely happy Zack Snyder finally got to release his vision for the film, even though it seems unlikely that the Snyderverse would ever return. Say what you will about Zack, but you cannot deny his passion for his projects and how much heart he has put into this film. I for one, cannot wait to see what he does next in his career. This one is for Autumn.



7.5/10




bottom of page