top of page

CT- Recommended: Prisoners (2013)

Directed by Denis Villeneuve

Starring: Jake Gyllenhaal, Hugh Jackman

The movie follows the disappearances and suspected kidnapping of a father’s daughter played by Hugh Jackman, as it also follows the story of the investigation carried out by a detective played by Jake Gyllenhaal.

I came across this movie as I was looking through director Denis Villeneuve’s filmography and I have to say, this movie is phenomenal. It’s pacing was steady, the story was intriguing, and you will not want this movie to end. The acting from everyone in this movie was incredible especially Hugh Jackman as he conveys the emotions of anger and sadness due to his daughter’s disappearance. Roger Deakins is in charge of cinematography and did a good job displaying the dark and gloomy atmosphere of the . I am disappointed it was only nominated for Best Cinematography, I felt it deserved other nominations on top of that, such as Best Actor in a Leading Role for Hugh Jackman. All in all, this is a fantastic movie, that you should not miss. My rating: 9/10

bottom of page